Day Thirteen: Speed post!

So I have only a few scant moments of Internet access before we lose power again to this October snow storm. While I’m thrilled to have four-wheel drive, and studded snow tires, I’m not so keen on the idea of losing a day in my writing challenge to Mother Nature.

So I’m going to type fast, and think in small sentences.

I’ve been dwelling on the idea that social media isn’t really, “important,” unless you’re a tween, or a pedophile. (Okay, that’s an exaggeration. Again, going for speed and impact here.) In the past few days, two interesting articles have caught my eye in regards to the scope this medium has on marketing, and our lives in general.

First, from Ad Age, a short piece on an award-winning marketing campagin to increase voter turn out that utilized Twitter as a key element.

Why Voters in Tunisia’s Turn Up.

So many marketing campaigns focus on what amount to the little things in life: Little, but still important. It was refreshing to be reminded that these principles applied to some really damn serious matters as well.

Up next, we have a really good reason to invest in a video camera:

Viral videos make people rich!
It seems so simple. The right place, at the right time, with the right puppy/ kid/ baby. Everyone is an entertainment producer. You don’t even need to be tech savvy, or a media maven. All you need is a link and forward button.

I’ll expand upon this idea soon. But right now, I need to batten down a few more hatches.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.